A Lie Nation was formed by a fusion of two garage bands when drummer Markus Leinonen and guitarist (currently bassist) Joonas Kokkoniemi got to know each other in the year 2009. The group sought its form by playing cover songs and had its first rehearsals with three guitarists while vocalist Miikka Pyykkönen took care of both singing and bass guitar. First set lists consisted of several well known metal songs by various extreme metal bands. However, it soon turned out that there were also some composing skills present in the band when guitarist Jussi Tuomisto introduced songs of his own making. As a result, covers were slowly dropped from the set list and original songs were found play worthy. At this point an obligatory change of responsibilities was also made as Joonas switched his instrument to a bass guitar, leaving the guitars in the hands of Jussi and Joni Moisanen.

The group remained nameless until the year 2010 when a need for a name became relevant as a chance for the first live performance presented itself. Miikka thought of a word play for the term “alienation” and the band was officially named as A Lie Nation. In the year 2011 the band got its first gig which also served as a turning point for pushing the band into a more serious base. The group moved from previous, cramped play space into rented premises and renewed its gear and instruments with a heavy hand. The first internet demos also saw the light of day at this time.

After a few digital demos the first real release was published in 2015. Human Waves EP presented the band at its more matured form. The self-published EP was recorded and produced entirely by the band members and the lessons of promotion and live performing were learned by the hard way, with no external help. The EP was received well by the metal media, and was often considered as fresh and energetic in reviews. Several gigs also followed the release and the band earned valuable live experience while pushing towards future releases.

A Lie Nation’s music is driven by aggressive, black metal style vocals and melodic, yet heavy, guitars. Main influences come from melodic death and black metal, while the band itself doesn’t clearly present either. Frequent lyrical topics include misanthropy, hate and yearning of unexistence.

Markus Leinonen, drums
Joonas Kokkoniemi, bass guitar
Joni Moisanen, guitar
Miikka Pyykkönen, vocals
Jussi Tuomisto, guitar


Human Waves (2015, self-published)

A Burn Afar (2014, self-published digital publication)